Paul Harris Awards

The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006, including the following from the Lancaster-Depew club.


John Dauscher
Bernie Uebelhoer
Bill Seibel
Stu Packard
William Kotansky
Bill Becker
Woody Stutzman
E.K. "Mike" Ponvert
Warren Ehlers
Frank Mango
Lee Seibel
Wayne Welch
Bob Dubel
Dave Jerome
Lynn Mossman
Thomas Tarpy
Howard "Pete" Sweet
Dennis Merritt
J. Norman Hayes
Ed Hokaj
Paul Kendall
George O'Neil
Walt Syzmanski
Randi Dressel
Arthur Rago
Pete Klaasesz
John Loescher
Valentine Kazmierczak
Jack Newhouse
Earl Meyers
Gladys Meyers
Joe Girardi
Tim Young
Alan Fiscus
Gary Machniak
Robert Benzel
Ken Graber
Dave Karb
Russ Salvatore
Brian Williams
John Trojanowsky
John Huber
Joe Girardi
Mark Jerge
Bill Kotansky
Ken Graber
Adam Guglielmi
Allison Lawson
Brian Williams
Bonnie Marlor
John Huber
Russ Salvatore
Robert Benzel
Jennifer Benzel
Robert Benzel
Russ Salvatore
Robert Benzel